Shut up already!…I’m watching Lisa!

Standard
Shut up already!…I’m watching Lisa!

I owe something to the actress Lisa Bonet…(known back-in-the-day for her role as Denise in the Cosby Show and for her relationship with Lenny Kravitz). She was this sublime, magical influence in my teenage year’s….oh geez…I use to tune into the show like my life depended on it….just to watch her.

She just wasn’t a try-hard.  She said her line’s like she was in pure conversation, her gesture’s were goofy at time’s and yet she had swag with it, she had a dress-sense that I still consider to this day to be my first-love, and her hair…her HAIR!!!! That first episode when she introduced her dread-lock’s….I thought I was going to die of acute admiration on our unfortunate 1980’s apricot colored sofa!

There was an essence about her that I recognized as a Sleeping Dragon within myself…it was cool, in an energy-based way, it was so not contrived or egotistical…she just cruised-down-the-river of herself, young, free and as wise all at once…I hadn’t really seen that before, ‘felt’ it but she held the mirror up and…I LOVED soaking-up the light in the reflection.

Of course she went on to elope with Lenny Kravitz at 20 years old, then she had his baby and I use to exhale ‘wowza’ every time I saw them in the tabloid’s.  She went on later in life to marry the man/lovegod that had been pestering me for my hand in marriage for year’s (Jason Momoa)…then had two children to him…I don’t think he ever told her about me…

I am lying. He never asked me to marry him…although I am sure I recall drinking too much red wine and an image of him in a magazine spoke to me (like the character’s on the wall do in Harry Potter)and asked me if I would like to Hula dance with him in the moonlight …. but I digress as per…

Anyhoo the point of today’s post is that it’s like a truly wonderful thing, when as a young man or woman you find your first Essence-Crush….the enigma that hold’s up the mirror of ‘Genuine’ Cool…who made you feel excited about the prospect of walking toward waking that Sleeping Dragon of inner confidence, self-expression and possibility.

Lisa Bonet is now 48 years a goddess and I am 43…..my darling teenage follower’s..if you can still feel all warm and squishy about a ‘celebrity’ decades later…then you KNOW that they were to your journey…the epitome of timeless cool-bananas…(F.Y.I….the fruit references was an 80’s saying…please ‘be rad’ and forgive me….PeaceOut…)xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

10 responses »

  1. Lisa Bonet is beautiful, I lived in Los Angeles most of my adult life until about 4 years ago and I always worked in trendy restaurants. I worked with a girl who was friends of Lisa’s and I met her the day before she started work on The Cosby Show, then years later I saw her when I went to see Amma, the hugging guru she was there with her daughter. She is 48 shut up! No way! OMG now I feel old, haha. I did not know she married Jason M.. Are they still married? My dream boat is Lenny although I am way to old for him.

    • Hi Sweety….oh my…thank you for sharing…I love it!..Yes I loved/love Lisa. And ya!…her and Mr Yummy are still hitched. And…sweety…Lenny was on The Ellen Show late last year and he stated that he is single (and not unlike his ex-wife still looking EXACTLY the same!) so you never know…he look’s like he would notice a beautiful ‘butterfly’ should one happen to flutter by! Lovely to read your comment my new friend…xx

Leave a Reply

